VEGETAURUS
PANERA BREAD / ST. LOUIS BREAD COMPANY

For fans of this restaurant, please note: their bagels and mac’n’cheese are not vegetarian-friendly. Their cheese (mac’n’cheese) contains veal rennet and their bagels are made with an animal protein in the dough. Some of their sandwiches contain cheeses that aren’t veggie-friendly. Check below.

Here’s info on their bagels: “I’ve been informed that the ingredient L-Cysteine is in the bagels and it is derived from an animal source.”

An e-mail from Panera lists the following so far as their cheeses go:

Asiago Cheese- Animal (Kid or Calf Rennet)
Cream Cheese*- Non-Animal
Fatina Cheese _ Animal (Kid or Calf Rennet)
Feta Cheese -Animal
Fetina Cheese - (blend of Romano & Parmesan)-Animal (Kid or Calf Rennet)
Fontina - Animal (Kosher Calf & Lamb Rennet)
Fresh Mozzarella - Non-Animal (Microbial) Rennet
Gorgonzola -Animal
Neufchatel Cheese** - Non-Animal
Ricotta - No enzymes
Romano - Animal (Kosher Calf & Lamb Rennet)
Sliced Mozzarella - Non-Animal
Smoked Cheddar - Non-Animal
Smoked Gouda - Non-Animal
Swiss Cheese - Non-Animal
White Cheddar - Animal (Veal)

Vegan handbags - cruelty free! Here are some sites for you shopaholics and fashionistas who don’t want to put their vegan cosmetics in a big sack of dead animal. :)
http://www.compassioncoutureshop.com/index.php/bags/satchels
http://chicvegan.com/taska-handbags-100-cruelty-free/
http://www.veganchic.com/vegan+handbags/search.aspx
http://www.alternativeoutfitters.com/women/vegan-handbags-purses.aspx
Feel free to comment with other suggestions - or send them in as asks! I’ll add them to my entry for vegetarian shopping/stores. As a bonus - most of these sites have men’s accessories and SHOES.

Vegan handbags - cruelty free! Here are some sites for you shopaholics and fashionistas who don’t want to put their vegan cosmetics in a big sack of dead animal. :)

http://www.compassioncoutureshop.com/index.php/bags/satchels

http://chicvegan.com/taska-handbags-100-cruelty-free/

http://www.veganchic.com/vegan+handbags/search.aspx

http://www.alternativeoutfitters.com/women/vegan-handbags-purses.aspx

Feel free to comment with other suggestions - or send them in as asks! I’ll add them to my entry for vegetarian shopping/stores. As a bonus - most of these sites have men’s accessories and SHOES.

Bertolli Sauces

I e-mailed Bertolli to ask the following questions:

I’m a vegetarian, and so is the rest of my family. We would like to know which of your sauces, if any, that contain cheese/dairy are vegetarian friendly. We try our best to avoid dairy that has animal enzymes/byproducts/animal rennet. Also, I’m aware you have many frozen dinners - are there any plans for vegetarian recipes in the future? Italian food isn’t strictly a meat-focused cuisine, after all. Lots and lots of Italian, Mediterranean and Sicilian dishes are vegetarian-friendly. Thanks in advance for any help you can offer!

Rebecca Hein

They replied as such:

Hello Rebecca,

Thank you for contacting us regarding Bertolli Pasta Sauce.

Any Bertolli® products that contain cheese use rennet (of animal origin). Enzymes are organic compounds produced in living cells and many changes in foods, such as ripening of fruit, occur as a result of the enzymes they contain.

Enzymes (of microbiological origin) that are commonly used in making cheese are derived from dairy products; enzymes help to form lactic acid needed for the production of cheese (to ferment milk)

Our products are formulated for use by the majority of our consumers, and not specifically for those on restricted diets. It is possible our product formulations may change at any time. Therefore, we recommend always checking the ingredient labels.

Milk is not used in producing color of any kind nor is it used as a flavoring or bulking agent of an ingredient, unless referring to chocolate and related products.

Our company makes every effort to stay informed about any ingredients that could be considered a common allergen. The top eight allergens as defined by FDA are: peanuts, tree nuts, soy, fish, seafood, wheat, eggs, and milk or dairy, as well as any ingredient that may contain gluten. These are always listed on the label. If you cannot determine whether or not the product contains the ingredient in question, or if you feel uncomfortable about the ingredients used in our products, it is our recommendation that you do not use them.

We appreciate your interest in our products and we will forward your comments to the appropriate staff.

Sincerely,

Your friends at Bertolli

Imo’s Pizza (as most of us knew) is not vegetarian-friendly. I’ve written them an e-mail and they had this to say (so I added the information to the Vegetarian No-Nos list - also added all varieties of Velveeta):

Hello,

I just wanted to let you know that we received your email and I, with help from our manufacturer, have been researching these ingredients.  I do know that the sauce and shells contain animal bi-products and are not considered vegetarian.  Provel cheese contains sharp cheddar, which is made with animal rennet. The Imo’s House Dressing does not contain any cheese, anchovies or fish products. The Imo’s House vinaigrette has parmesan in it, which is made with rennet. It also has a small amount of beef powder. I am unsure about the alfredo sauce.  Most stores do not offer alfredo on their menu items. As soon as I hear back about this, I will let you know.

Thank you Becky,

Imo’s

id been veggie for a year when i discovered your page and i wasnt really aware of all the things that contain gelatin and all that other crap in them, and your blog has helped me soo much in understanding them and everything, and what theyre in. so thank you for that. its just not right that companies use things like gelatin, for instance in pop-tarts when there are vegetarian options out there. im running a secondary blog called fish-are-fri3nds-not-food and itd mean a lot if you'd check it out

I will check it out, absolutely! Thanks for letting me know these lists and links have helped out. I know how bad it feels to find out about things too late, so I want to prevent that from happening to others. Thanks again hon. <3

I wasn't sure if this has been mentioned before, but it's seems that even Yoplait's Greek yogurt contains gelatin.

That’s not surprising. v_v I’ll add it into the list if it hasn’t been already. Thanks for this! <3

I LOVE YOU SO MUCH. for real. Your blog is so helpful thank you SO MUCH! (:

You’re welcome - I’m glad it’s helping! :D <3

PRODUCT OF THE WORK WEEK!
Amy&#8217;s Country Cheddar Bowl.
This thing is amazing. The tofu in it is phenomenal. I add a little shredded cheese once it&#8217;s done cooking. :D
Protein: 16g
P.S. This is great for @ college or in the break room at work. And also for breakfast. O_O

PRODUCT OF THE WORK WEEK!

Amy’s Country Cheddar Bowl.

This thing is amazing. The tofu in it is phenomenal. I add a little shredded cheese once it’s done cooking. :D

Protein: 16g

P.S. This is great for @ college or in the break room at work. And also for breakfast. O_O

PRODUCT OF THE WEEKEND!
Vegetarian Hormel Chili (99% Fat Free).
This product is vegan, as well, but I suspect advertising that fact might potentially frighten off Hormel&#8217;s normal crowd. Anyway, who doesn&#8217;t like chili?
Football season, as well as the holidays, dictates that warm, hearty food be eaten! I&#8217;ve mixed this with Velveeta (not the shreds - they have gelatin) to make AMAZING chili cheese dip (season to taste, or add some salsa!), as well as added it on top of tofu dogs with some cheese and onions. If you&#8217;re not a fan of Velveeta (for dip), try a jar of Pace&#8217;s Salsa Con Queso dip instead. This stuff works great in a bowl with some oyster crackers as well. :D
If you&#8217;d rather make your own chili, try these recipes&#8230;
Emeril Lagasse&#8217;s Vegetarian Chili.
Family Circle Magazine&#8217;s Vegetarian Chili (with guacamole garnish!).
Check back on Monday for &#8220;Product of the Work Week&#8221;!

PRODUCT OF THE WEEKEND!

Vegetarian Hormel Chili (99% Fat Free).

This product is vegan, as well, but I suspect advertising that fact might potentially frighten off Hormel’s normal crowd. Anyway, who doesn’t like chili?

Football season, as well as the holidays, dictates that warm, hearty food be eaten! I’ve mixed this with Velveeta (not the shreds - they have gelatin) to make AMAZING chili cheese dip (season to taste, or add some salsa!), as well as added it on top of tofu dogs with some cheese and onions. If you’re not a fan of Velveeta (for dip), try a jar of Pace’s Salsa Con Queso dip instead. This stuff works great in a bowl with some oyster crackers as well. :D

If you’d rather make your own chili, try these recipes…

Emeril Lagasse’s Vegetarian Chili.

Family Circle Magazine’s Vegetarian Chili (with guacamole garnish!).

Check back on Monday for “Product of the Work Week”!